Trellis….

I have been away for a long time… kind of lost in many wayIn an effort to re-connect with God, myself, and anyone e”

Else, I am doing a Lenten study on “The Rule of Life”…. in today’s reading, they compare a “rule” as a way of living one’s life that reflects their values and beliefs. They liken it to a “trellis”, which gives structure, direction, and support to a plant. This analogy really appeals to me, and they explain that without structure, the plant just lays at the base and grows, Willy-billy on the ground.

This is the way I feel that I have been living for the past 3 months…I have just been lying on the ground, dormant with no direction. Whether it was because I have been grieving the lost of a very dear friend, or depression, or just plain sadness, I had stopped doing most of the things that have helped me keep from that pit of darkness… it doesn’t really matter, but what DOES matter is what I intend to do about it.

Doing my morning prayer has sustained me for many years, and by following the Daily Office, along with writing, my day started off on the right foot.Doing my daily readings had kept me focused on what was mine to do, AND what is not mine to do.

So, understanding what I need to do, the idea of forming my own Rule of Life.i look forward to this study during Lent, to once again rebuild that trellis of spiritual life…

Else

Leave a comment